Why I love the movie – Shrek

I am an animated movie buff. I love animated movies. That we can create an alternate world, surreal and extraordinary beyond imagination is amazing in itself. Where birds have a voice, animals can emote like humans, and imaginary characters like ogres and elves are brought to life. I feel like a kid, when I would sit for hours alone in my room creating my own little whimsical world.

I love most of them, be it Tangled or Ice Age. But my favorite of all the recent spate of animated films is Shrek. All sequels too.

Shrek (character)

Shrek (character) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Why Shrek above all else? Think about it..

Here is a guy who is an ogre. He looks ugly, lives in a dump, and has absolutely no sense of personal hygiene. Yet you can’t help but love him. He is genuine. There are no pretenses. He doesn’t make a show of being one way or the other to please anyone. He has only two friends, but they are loyal and faithful to him. Even though there are times he snaps at them, and vice versa, they stay together. The crazy bunch.

There is someone like Shrek inside of me too. I too am monstrous sometimes, and I behave like an ogre when I am angry. I say things I am not supposed to say, and I do things that make people angry. I say things sometimes to my husband that make me regret later. But then, just like Shrek, I am too proud to admit it.

I am fat, and I love to eat. I do not give primary importance to neatness and tidiness in my house. It isn’t exactly like Shrek’s swamp, but you get my point, don’t you? In short, tardiness doesn’t bother me at all, and with respect to housework, a sloth could be faster than  me.

Princess Fiona

Princess Fiona (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I do not like to invest in looks. It hasn’t got anything to do with rebellion, just plain laziness. I am too lazy to apply lotions and creams. I hate to go to beauty parlors and I go only because I am supposed to look a certain way in order to be accepted in the society. If I could, my hair care regime would only include running my fingers through my hair.

Yessir, that’s me. I love being free. I love to let my children loose. I love it when my older daughter draws creatures on the walls, and I can’t wait to see what creativity my younger daughter has in mind. I love it when we go crazy trying to cook some new food, and don’t pay much attention to the mess that ensues. We love to dance with abandon. Me and my kids.

I would love to show the middle finger sometimes when I really wish to do so. I’d also love to be able to fart and belch and burp when I feel like it. I really envy my husband for this reason.

Despite everything, I want to be accepted for who I am. I want to be loved for  who I am. And just like Shrek, I want to have a ball of a time.

gau1

Thanks dearest hubby, for being my Princess Fiona 🙂

5 thoughts on “Why I love the movie – Shrek

  1. I love Shrek. He is one of my favorite characters in a movie because he is real. He doesn’t care what people think and does what makes him happy. Great post and keep up the awesome work 🙂

Leave a Reply

