The Birthday Party

My biggest regret is that I wasn’t able to organize the Princess Themed birthday party that we had originally planned. We partied at McDonald’s instead, and it was fun. The best part was not having to worry about leftovers and cleaning up the messes. The McBuddy that we were allotted, Manoj Wagh, was very helpful and great with kids. All in all good party, lots of fun, good food, and no worries.

We begin the day with a little photosession

We begin the day with a little photosession

As is the Hindu custom, we begin our day with Aukshan. My mom is a little late because of the horrendous traffic and rains, so we wait for her. Saee in the meanwhile, is all ready to get clicked. I get my Aukshan ki thali and diya  ready.

Another one with a bindi

Another one with a bindi

Mom is finally here, so we begin doing the aukshan for Saee’s long life one by one. Hubbs clicks the pictures.

Teeka

Tikka

Smiley smiley for mommy!

Smiley smiley for mommy!

I had planned to do an updo hairstyle for Saee. It would have looked so great with the tiara and the gown. But Sayalee screamed all afternoon and Saee’s hair refused to budge. We had to stick with the ponytail.

Getting ready for the party

Getting ready for the party

Sayalee is screaming harder, so we decide to go out. That cools her down a bit. These pictures I clicked with a Nikon D60 with Sayalee in my left hand. Don’t ask me how I did it, even I have no idea.

She looks so grown up!

She looks so grown up!

I wonder in amazement how my daughter is growing up even as I click her pictures. My heart swells up.

melting my heart!

melting my heart!

We reach McDonalds, but no one has shown up yet. The rains were keeping people from reaching on time. But as minutes passed, I was getting panicky. What if no one showed up? How would Saee feel? To allay my anxiety, I shoot some more pics. They have balloons at McD’s so Saee is enjoying.

waiting for her friends

waiting for her friends

all smiles on her big day

all smiles on her big day

my beauty queen

my beauty queen

My mom keeps her some company while the guests arrive. I have a word with the manager. The party was supposed to start at 5 p.m. It was 5:45 and no one had come yet. The manager is understanding, thankfully!

DSC_3204

My Mommy!!!!

the friends and family

the friends and family

Finally one by one the guests arrive and I mentally heave a sigh of relief. This was going to go well after all!

everyone sings happy birthday to Saee

everyone sings happy birthday to Saee

The birthday party has begun and everyone begins to sing for Saee. That acts like the stinging nettle for Sayalee who begins crying. Shri gives her company.

Sayalee and Shrikant share some crying time

Sayalee and Shrikant share some crying time

Seeing how anxiety-ridden Sayalee is, I take her and hand over the camera to Shri. The next pictures are clicked by him.

My pretty niece Shreemayi

My pretty niece Shreemayi

This quiets her down a little

This quiets her down a little

Aarya Shirodkar... Saee's classmate

Aarya Shirodkar… Saee’s classmate

Shreemayi smiling

Shreemayi smiling

Everything is going well. We play games. Some win some lose. Saee surprises and tickles everyone when she loses and exclaims, “Yess! I got out!”

With her best friend Anushka

With her best friend Anushka

She is happy because all her friends are there. In particular, her best friend Anushka.

My older niece Shravani

My older niece Shravani

cutesy poses

cutesy poses

DSC_3342

a moment with Sayalee – beautiful click by my DH

balloon mania

balloon mania

a rare smile

a rare smile

not-so-rare frown

not-so-rare frown

my help and my saviour - Gracy with Sayalee

my help and my saviour – Gracy with Sayalee

Chutki doesn't look like Chutki... but the cake was good - bought from a new cake shop Candy Kisses, Panchpakhadi, Thane

Chutki doesn’t look like Chutki… but the cake was good – bought from a new cake shop Candy Kisses, Panchpakhadi, Thane

my lovely aunts

my lovely aunts

DH's mom

DH’s mom

lovely pic by DH

lovely pic by DH

All in all the party was a big success. Saee had loads of fun, everyone ate junk happily, and by the time I reached home after settling the accounts, my lovely Princess had gone into her dreamland.

Sayalee is still pretty much awake so I play with her and pray to God that she finds something in her which is tired. The yawns begin soon, and I am grateful when she has her fill and goes to bed.

I lie in bed, drowsy but satisfied.

15 thoughts on “The Birthday Party

  1. Ghar ke bahar bhi chalta hai, it gives a break. Ultimately we should enjoy & the princess did. A happy birthday to her & lots of smiles to Sayalee so that she pass you more often for the clicks 😉

  2. Having it at McDonald’s must have saved you a world of clean up!! The birthday princess looks really lovely and the pictures make for great memories 🙂

    • Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting Fab! I saw your blog and I think it is fantastic! Coming from you, this is a great compliment 🙂 And thanks for the wishes too!

  3. a v crisp description ..we enjoyed the party in our mind ..hey write something abt the food …kya serve kia …etc etc …teh cake description was funny though …b day princess looked gorgeous ..and little princess looks like a competitor to my little rat( 2008 was the yr of rat …and 2012 the dragon) ..we both have dragon warriors!!!

  4. I was at the party vicariously through the pictures 🙂 good stuff. Yes and a party away from him like this is welcome sometimes isn’t it! I mean mentally one gets frayed and tired when planning a big party and then the ” after” once everyone leaves is the most tiring. I am glad your princess enjoyed it 🙂

  5. A very happy birthday to the little princess. She really looked the part 🙂
    As long as she had fun, nothing else matters. And you saved so much of after-party cleaning up work. Lovely pictures 🙂
    Looks like the younger princess enjoyed too!

    • Thanks to the younger princess for enjoying the party or we would have had a tough time! but all’s well that ends well, I guess! And thanks for the wishes 🙂

Leave a Reply

