APAD. Day 18. Perspective.

Sometimes I feel so tired, I feel like I can’t get anything done. Like today, I was absolutely in no mood to write this post. But here I am. Writing it. Friends often ask me where do I get the energy to do so much? Frankly, first of all, I don’t think I do much at all. Had God given me energy, I could have done so much more. And the second thing is, perspective.

Look at today’s picture.

©Daniel Silveira via photopin via flickr.com

©Daniel Silveira via photopin via flickr.com

 

Years ago, something like twenty years ago, I used to attend Karate classes. I didn’t go far. I never did see much to completion. It is a negative trait, one which I wish to change in me. But here’s something I always remember from one class.

I asked my teacher, “What is stamina?” I had heard the word being used many times before and I didn’t know what it meant.

This is how my teacher “Taught” me the meaning of stamina.

He told me to run around the ground ten times. Ten rounds in all. When I started running, I didn’t think I could make it. I didn’t think I could make it past the seventh lap. But I did, somehow, huffing and puffing and sweaty, I completed the tenth lap. I thought, “Is this what is meant by stamina?”

My teacher asked me after I was done, “Are you tired now?”

“Not much.”

“Do you think you could run three more rounds?”

“I think so”

So there I was, running three more laps. By the end of the third lap, I was so bone tired and weary, I didn’t think I could take another step.

“Tired now?”

“Yessir!”

“Think you could run another round?”

“No Sir.”

“Now I want you to run and complete one more round.”

I looked at him, like he had lost it. Or I had lost it for asking him such a question.

But I ran.

And when I didn’t think I could take another step, I ran and completed one more lap.

Fourteen laps where I didn’t think I would last even seven.

“That, my dear Gauri, is your stamina.” He said.

I have never forgotten that lesson.

 

It’s all about perspective.

If you think that you can’t do it, you won’t. If you think you can do it, you will.

 

 

2 thoughts on “APAD. Day 18. Perspective.

  1. Hey! your wordpress blog page theme is very different, not many use this theme. Especially if your blog is not a photography based blog… i liked it… and Allegory that you have used in this blog is inspiring. :)… keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

