Liebster Award

So I hopped on to the internet, to take a quick look at my mail (after many many days of staying away from it on my vacation) to find that one of my favorite writers Nibha Gupta aka Nibhz   of Expressions has nominated my blog for the Liebster award!

Nibha is a wonderful and prolific writer, a software developer by education. She writes short stories and wonderfully thoughtful poems on her blog. Her short stories are poignant and a delight to read 🙂 Thanks Nibhz, I am so honored to be nominated for this award by you 🙂

2014-liebster-award

 

The Liebster Award originated in Germany with the earliest record of it being found in 2010. It is an internet award given by a blogger to a blogger. The meaning of liebster is dearest, sweetest, kindest, nicest, beloved, lovely, kind, valued, pleasant, cute, welcome, sweetheart, endearing; all terms which I would be happy to have associated with me. It’s all about finding and encouraging the new bloggers in the blogsphere!

The nominee can either accept or not however the benefits to the blogger far outweigh the time taken to fulfil the requirements. I for one love awards and enjoy getting to know other bloggers that have not come across my path in the normal course of events.

The really nice thing about the Liebster Award is that it is an award designed to find/recognize new bloggers and welcome them to the world of blogging. A little like taking your basket of scones and going across the street to welcome your new neighbor. It is a really nice thing to do. So thank you Lita for your welcome and welcome in return.

The rules:

(1)Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.

(2) You must answer the 10 questions given to you by the nominee before you.

(3) Nominate 10 of your favorite blogs with fewer than 200 followers and notify them of their nomination.

(4) Come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

Here are my answers to the questions asked of me:

1-One wish that you will trade your world for?

I wouldn’t trade my world for anything. My world is my family. My husband my kids, and my mother. They are dearer to me that anything else. I wouldn’t trade them in for anything in this world.

 

2- What gives you peace?

Knowing that I am doing my bit to raise my kids well. Knowing that my writing is a source of happiness for some people. Knowing that the cakes I make, make someone’s day. That is what gives me inner peace and strength.

 

3-One place you will love to visit before you die?

The one place I want to  visit before I die, is Paris. Always dreamed of going to Paris and eating from a boulangerie.

 

4-What does writing mean to you?

Writing is my first and only passion. It is my means to come to terms with my own self, my thoughts and feelings. It is my means to find myself and become a whole person in return.

 

5-What is the purpose of your blog?

I started writing this blog as a means of unleashing my own creativity. Having spent too many years focused on education, then marriage and then kids, I thought I had pushed creativity to the backseat. But my daughters were the reason I wanted to open the floodgates to my mind. I discovered I could not only write, but bake, crochet, sew, and make cool diy crafts, and it was so easy that I wanted to share those with the world. I wanted to tell everyone that creativity is not inborn, it is a way of life. You have to choose to be creative.

6-According to you what is the most special way to capture moments? (Hint: photographs, journals, etc)

The best way to capture moments is through photography. I haven’t done a course yet, but in my life, if I ever get a chance, I would like to pursue a formal course in photography.

7-Should getting published/famous be the only aim of the writer? What’s your aim?

My answer to that question is both yes and no. You don’t become a writer so you can get published. I became a writer because writing came very naturally to me. I needed to write like a person needs air to breathe. Like a fish needs water to survive. But being published means more people can read from your thoughts and partake a little from your lives. My aim, is to write a novel and get it published.

 

8-What is the hardest writing challenge that you won over?

Yet to cross that bridge. Will do so soon, hopefully 🙂

 

9-What would be one word that could define your writings?

Poignant

 

10-What’s that one Quote that always inspires you?

It is a quote by Rumi. “Why crawl through life when you were born with wings!”

 

My Nominees for the Liebster Award are:

A Spoonfull of Ideas

Mommy Gyan

Words

JuztaMom

Mom Biz Cafe

Dal, Donuts and Doodles

Sweet Sharing

I AM

PratsMusings

Bumps N Baby

 

And here are my list of questions for the nominees:

1. Who/what is your writing inspiration?

2. When did you first start writing?

3. If you could take three things with you to the next life, what would they be and why?

4. Who is your idol?

5. What is your ideal setting to write? (the ambience, with a cup of coffee etc.)

6. What is your heart’s deepest wish with respect to your writing?

7. What do you want to achieve with your blog?

8. What was the last thing you wrote about?

9. If you could interview one famous person for your blog, who would it be and why?

10. What is the one romantic/memorable thing you have done for your loved one? (Spouse, parent, kids, friends etc.)

 

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

