Pandemonium

He had bought this house, away from the hustle bustle of his chawl, to escape the cacophony that enveloped his whole being from the wee hours of morning to way past midnight. Serene, quiet and an assurance of a peaceful existence it was.

Night came. No sounds yet.

Except the deafening silence.

6172591231_405af254da_b

Tick-tock, tap tap tap the water droplets fell in a distinct beat, tick-tock, the hooting of an owl in the distance, tick-tock, the sound of his thumping heart.

He was now enveloped by the pandemonium of this silence.

The next day, he packed his bags and went back to the chawl, back to the din and the cacophony.

Once again, he slept peacefully.

This post has been written for Write Tribe’s Festival of Words Day 1

button

Although late, I decided to join in nevertheless. It is always a pleasure to write for Write Tribe’s prompts. The prompt for Day 1 was to write a piece of fiction in 9 sentences. Yes, you can go back and count all 9 of them πŸ˜€

This little piece of fiction had been ruminating in my mind for quite a while. I hope to expand it in future, unless I hold on to my habit of procrastinating πŸ™‚

Photo Credits: 1

50 thoughts on “Pandemonium

    • Thanks Sri πŸ™‚ Incidentally that’s what I call my hubby too; his name is Srikant πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment πŸ™‚

  1. At times silence can be so deafening. Beautifully written. πŸ™‚ …. writing for WT is always a pleasure, very true. … as it brings up so much new prompts and tremendous energy. πŸ™‚

  2. Simply put together and yet conveys the message and heart of the story.
    It’s not noise or silence but our comfort zone and habit which we can’t part with.
    Well said that “Silence can be Deafening”.
    Will be reading a lot more than just 9 sentences;πŸ‘πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

  3. My home was near a railway station, and I couldn’t study unless I heard the koooooo of the trains πŸ™‚ I could identify with him, so much ! Well written, Gauri πŸ™‚

  4. Having lived near a highway for a couple of months and having moved into a more silent, residential area very recently, I can totally relate to what you are saying here πŸ˜€

  5. my husband keeps on saying he loves to get a villa in the outskirts to live in peace, and I always say I want apartment. Being in the crowd gives me so much satisfaction even though I know we are more lonely then.

  6. I remember ab uncle and aunt have their home bang on a busy road in Bangalore and when they came home for a holiday, they were superbly restless because the colony was so quiet and calm.

  7. thtcould be our story now! Noise doesnt bother me as much as before but i still love silencebut yea can be scary)

Leave a Reply

