A – Aprons DIY (A to Z April Blogging Challenge 2014)

So here guys, gearing up for the April A to Z blogging challenge 2014, in all earnestness. By now most of you know that I picked DIY crafts as my theme for the blogging challenge. I have been preparing for it since fifteen days in advance and I hope that my work pays off.

A

For the first day, that is April 1st, the alphabet is A. Hence, my DIY subject is an Apron.

I have been dreaming about making an apron for my daughter since ages. She is an avid artist. Her primary passion is drawing and painting. Whenever you enter my house, the first thing that you will notice invariably, is the multitude of doodles, artful and fantastic for a five year old, that my daughter has created over four and half years. She is now five and half, and she began doodling when she was one year old.

Recently she has also began to show a propensity for cooking. She keeps egging me about cooking and wants to help me prepare food. Of lately, I have also begun respecting her wishes, and I give her some age appropriate tasks such as mixing, or peeling etc. But the downside is that she gets a lot of those ingredients on her clothes, and both paints and foods are notorious cloth-stainers. They leave permanent unsightly stains on her clothes and I am forever struggling to get them off.

Hence the apron.

I don’t have a step by step picture tutorial to show you. Indeed, I don’t even know how to teach sewing. It is something I am still learning to do.

But yeah, I am beginning to get the hang of it.

Here is what I made.

apron

Apart from this I’ll share some other fantastic DIY aprons made by other awesome bloggers.

The Dahling Dating Divas

dating divas

I love the vibrant colors of this apron and also the box-pleat trim at the lower end. If I decide to make another apron, this will be it πŸ™‚

Tempus Fugit

tempus

How cute are these aprons! I love the cake and the lollipop appliquΓ©s, they go fantastically with the decor. I also love that the maker has embroidered the kids’ names to personalize the aprons. If I had a fashion maker, I could have done it too.

Redneck Girl Aprons

redneckTurn an old pair of jeans into this gorgeous apron. The upside is, it is darned difficult to get anything on your clothes if you wear this denim apron. The downside is, it is really really hard to sew on denim.

Patchwork Posse

patchworkAn easier way to make this apron, find a large enough handkerchief, and add satin ribbons. Done!!

Joann

joannA little too dressy for me, but it is cute. Tutorial available on the site.

This Mama Makes Stuff

tmmsLove the chevron print, love the girls, love the cupcakes and cookies, love everything!!! Fun and easy aprons to DIY.

I hope you liked this post on aprons. Watch out tomorrow for the Bird Feeder.

Meanwhile do make sure to visit some other awesome blogs who are also participating in the A-to-Z challenge, Belinda Reger, Beloo Mehra, Bhavya, Carol Graham, Carrie~Anne Foster, Cathy Graham, Cristina TrinidadΒ and finally a personal favorite Corinne Rodrigues

Happy DIYing everyone!

Also participating and linking to:

Ultimate Blogging Challenge

/

50 thoughts on “A – Aprons DIY (A to Z April Blogging Challenge 2014)

  1. Oh we had an apron painting session for Gy’s 5th birthday. I still have it, by the way. And this looks adorable.Bookmarking and sharing πŸ˜€

  2. AAwie….colourful πŸ˜€ I loved the first model πŸ˜€ damn cute she is πŸ™‚ The DIY sure sounds exciting πŸ™‚ Must try it out, definitely πŸ™‚
    Thanks for the early visit to my blog, Gauri. I’m up with my second post for A πŸ˜€

  3. She sounds so much like Aarav who is really drawn towards painting and cooking like his mom. I will learn this apron from you when we meet. Super creativeeeeee Gau!

  4. Oh, this is lovely! I have always loved sewing and DIY, but have dabbled in it only lately (after the birth of my daughter). Looking forward to the rest of your DIYs! My blog has a DIY section too, but am yet to update it. I hope to be able to use this challenge to get some content up there!!!

  5. You did very well with the apron! It looks so nice on your lovely daughter. I hope your posts will inspire me to do some DIY project myself, this sort of thing doesn’t come easy for me. That’s why I really admire those who can make these wonderful things themselves. Look forward to the other projects here!

  6. Gauri, a brave theme indeed, so much hands on work involved. Loved the apron post and the DIY apron, looking fwd to the rest of your posts πŸ™‚

  7. Hola…Mee Aale…DIY Apron…hmmm just what i needed for the kiddo….Loved the cute design…Waiting for the next one πŸ™‚

  8. OMG I want these! This is so creative and mind blowing. Till the age of 20 I was too much into arts and craft which took a back seat later. I am so inspired to take up that hobby again! Really loved it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

