Homemade Aromatherapy Headache Balm

You know that feeling when it feels like your head is about to explode? I get that all the time, and so does my husband.

His spells are worse, way worse than mine and I sometimes felt useless, not being able to help him at all. I also hated to watch him pop painkillers like they were candies. That’s when I found Pratibha’s post. You can find it on Prat’s Musings.

She had made some pain relief lotion bars. I asked her if she knew a formula for headache, and the lovely and charming lady that she is, she immediately helped me. Not only did she give me the formula, but also the links to the ingredients and where I could buy them.

Once I had my ingredients in place, I couldn’t wait to find out. I excitedly made the balm and stored it in this little container I bought at D-mart. However I didn’t find these there after that last time. What a pity, they are so cute!

Then again, I couldn’t just post it without actually using it and testing it, could I?

So I waited for a month. In this time, my husband and I have had numerous headaches (sometimes from yelling at each other :P)

I couldn’t solely rely on my husband’s verdict, because sweetheart that he is, he would never say anything that could potentially break my heart.

But this one time I had a headache, I rubbed just a teeny tiny bit on my temples, forehead and the acupressure point between the thumb and forefinger. Whaddya know?

Thirty minutes later, my husband asked me how I felt, and it took me about 15 seconds to register that he was asking me about the headache. The headache had just magically gone!

So here you go. Pratibha’s formula for Homemade headache Balm.

Headache Balm

INGREDIENTS

1 tbsp beeswax

1 tbsp shea butter

1 tbsp coconut oil

9 drops of lavender essential oil

15 drops of peppermint oil

9 drops of tea tree oil

2-3 drops of eucalyptus oil

STEP BY STEP

Pour a cupful of water in a saucepan and bring it to a boil.

Place another bowl in it. In this bowl add beeswax (cut into smaller pieces), shea butter and coconut oil.

Stir with a wooden spoon or a skewer till the beeswax is completely melted.

Now remove the bowl from the saucepan, and add the essential oils to it.

Mix thoroughly and pour the mixture into a small container.

Let it cool completely.

HOW TO USE:

Use a very tiny amount. Rub it on the temples, the forehead and on the fleshy area between the thumb and the forefinger, for immediate results.

I cannot end this post without a resounding THANK YOU to my dear friend Pratibha. You are the reason we are so calm in ze household these days! 😀

7 thoughts on “Homemade Aromatherapy Headache Balm

  1. That sounds good. Of late I’ve come to realise the benefits of organic/homemade products. Not sure where I’ll get all those ingredients, though. Thanks for that info on the acupressure point.

  2. Thank you for the love Gauri 🙂 With the numerous experiments and the number of jars I have made, I have realized that using lesser beeswax makes the balm more softer. You can try it the next time. Use a tsp of beeswax.

    • Yep. i realised that pratibha, the balm that I made for my sister-in-law had lesser beeswax ergo softer balm. I really do prefer this balm though, less messy 🙂

Leave a comment