HOW TO HAVE A SPA DAY FOR KIDS

It wasn’t until I read Susan from 5 Minutes for Moms post on how to plan a spa day for kids, that I realized that I could do the same for my kids, and their grandmother. My daughter loves to be pampered and of course, she was game for it. We decided that Sunday would be the best day to have such a relaxing soothing Spa day.

Now, I didn’t want to use commercial cosmetic products on my daughter’s skin. I wanted something earthy, and natural which wouldn’t irritate her skin, but instead soothe it. So I read up on the packs and scrubs which are kids friendly and landed up with making the following products. I have posted the recipes for the same below. Trust me, they felt good on my skin, and grandma’s as well as it did on the kids’ skin.

large__8514320551

photo credit: rachels1221 via photopin cc

1. Make it a date

It is a busy world, and we often don’t find time for much during our hectic lives. Bring out your organizer, mark the date on your pin up calendar, store the date in your phone, or do whatever it is that you do to keep a date in your mind. Plan on sticking to it, no matter what.

2. DIY Face Scrubs

Kids have sensitive and delicate skins. Of course you want to pamper them, but make sure it is with a product which is suited to their skins. Since strawberries are in season, what better fruit than strawberry to be a part of your ingredient list. Here is the pack I made. I called it the Strawberry Cocoa Face Scrub.

  1. 2 tbsp oats
  2. 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  3. 2 tbsp sugar
  4. 1 strawberry

Zap the ingredients listed above in a blender till well combined. You won’t need the whole mix. Just use a tablespoon at a time. Put it in a fancy bowl, and add a teaspoon of olive oil and milk and mix it all up. Use it to gently scrub your kids’s face. Don’t scrub too hard. Wipe away with warm water after five minutes.

3. DIY Face Masque

Strawberry was again an ingredient here. I used gram flour (besan) as the base because it is the safest to use. I added some yoghurt and honey to the gram flour to make it more moisture friendly, and the pulp of two strawberries. Heavenly is the only word for it.

4. Aromatherapy 

Lavender essential oil is my go-to ingredient for relaxation and rejuvenation, ever since I began following my dear friend Pratibha’s blog at Prat’s Musings. I just poured some lukewarm water in a bowl, and added about ten drops of lavender oil to it. Then I added a few colorful flowers to it, and my cute little home spa began to take shape.

Spa day

5. Create the ambience

You wouldn’t like to go to a spa for a day of rest and relaxation, where the ambience consists of bright light, blaring music and loud uncouth staff, right? Then create the same for your little princesses even in the cozy nook that your home is. You cannot, obviously, drown out all sounds, but you can try and minimize them. Draw the curtains, keep the temperature of the room cool, put on some soothing music (I used the romantic hindi songs option from my Tata Sky Plus) and light some soft candles and you are good to go.

6. Some munchies or a cool lemonade to sip

I threw in some strawberries for my little chicka to munch on, and made some pink lemonade to go with the strawberry themed spa day. Just what the chicka needed to feel refreshed.

large_4824350074

photo credit: quinn.anya via photopin cc

7. Create a spa corner

Place a soft towel with a pillow on the floor. Throw a warm towel over for some warmth. Begin the magic with your fingers! Stay calm and don’t say much. Just let your fingers do the needful and watch as your little one relaxes and rejuvenates.

8. Don’t forget the feet

Everyone loves a good foot rub, so pamper your kid with a relaxing foot rub. Use baby lotion to rub the stresses away from those tiny little feet. Call it a pedicure for little feet. It helps to watch a few videos of foot massage before you actually get down to it.

9. Bring out those shades

No, not those shades. Bring out every shade of nail paint you have, and pamper your kids for a day. Since nail polish on the fingers is not allowed in my kid’s school, I applied it instead to her toes. Boy, she was a happy cherub!

10. Don’t forget to name your spa

I called mine, the HRH Spa. It stands for Her Royal Highness Spa. I soon realized that it was a flexible name, because daddy dearest couldn’t be left out of the fun, and HRH became His Royal Highness Spa as well. 😀

Thus ended a day with some much needed R and R for the kids, their grandmother, and their father! Bonus – I have a set of glowing faces all around me today!

5 thoughts on “HOW TO HAVE A SPA DAY FOR KIDS

Leave a comment