Love Letters to the four most important people in my life

My Dearest Mom,

Today is Valentine’s day. I know this should not be the single most reason for me to do so, but still, I love you with all my heart. I loved you since the moment I took my first breath, and I will do so till I take my last. I bow before you, for all the things you have done for us.

You have always been there. Like a rock solid foundation. Like a pillar of strength. You have always loved me with all you have. You are the superwoman I can never imagine being.

I don’t remember much from my childhood. Except this, that I would be supremely happy every time you came to pick me up at school. I also remember how you would still lift me up in the mornings, even when I had gotten pretty heavy, just because I said so. I remember being adamant that you pick me up. Now that I have two of my own, I understand how it must have killed your back. And yet you did it, every single time.

I remember the song you would sing to me every morning, “Utha utha chiu taai”

Those were the best days of my life. Thank you for giving me such beautiful memories of my childhood. 🙂

This song is dedicated to you.

Happy Valentines Day, Mom!

Yours always,

Gauri.

 

 

 

To my dearest Srikant,

I know how you get embarrassed by PDA, but yet. Here I am. We met twelve years ago. That was the most beautiful day of my life. I met the one person, who would love me, cherish me, care for me, and put up with my nonsense. Despite my irrational behavior which happens so often, you have never stopped loving me.

Seven years that we have been married, have been the most amazing journey with you. You saw not just me, but even my mom through the worst time of our lives. When my brother passed away, you filled his shoes for my mother. I will always respect you and cherish you for that.

You gave me the conviction to believe in myself. You made it possible for me to chase my dreams. You encouraged me always, always to do what my heart wanted.

You are the reason my heart sings every morning. You are the reason I sleep without a worry.

I dedicate this song to you.

I love you. Always have. Always will.

Yours forever,

Gauri.

 

 

To my sweetest daughters Saee and Sayalee,

You are the best thing to have happened to me in all my life. You are God’s greatest gift to me. If I understand my own mother now, it is because of you two. If I understand myself now, it is because of you two.

Someday you will be all grown up, ready to take flight into this world. I dread that day, and yet look forward to it. I dread it because my babies will be all grown up and leave me. I look forward to it, because it will be the proudest moment for your mother.

I may sometimes have to be disciplinarian, but when you grow up you will understand why I did whatever I did.

I may sometimes take some time for myself, but again, you will realize the need for that when you are both grown up.

Until then, all I have is the million kisses to shower on you, the umpteen hugs that tell you that you are both loved, and cherished in the hearts of your Daddy and me.

Daddy and Mommy are very proud of the two of you.

We love you with all our hearts.

Happy Valentines day sweethearts.

All our love,

Dad and Mommy.

9 thoughts on “Love Letters to the four most important people in my life

Leave a comment